Side table makeover

Hello long lost friends. I took a little hiatus from blogging about my projects, but trust me when I say that the projects never stopped. Today I would like to share this little side table that I found at my secret stash (AKA Goodwill). The bones were in pretty good shape, so I decided to do a little cleaning and painting and make it loved again! Here is the table after cleaning and before someone allowed a paint brush in my hand. (As per usual, please forgive my awful photos. But I guess that’s what I should expect when I take pictures in a dark and dingy garage with a cell phone. You gotta do what you gotta do.)

IMAG2369b

I began by painting the legs and sides with a lovely robin’s egg blue that I scored from Home Depot as a “mistint” for $0.50. It’s creepy how excited I get about a good bargain. Here’s the table after step one.

IMAG2370b

Next, I painted the tops a creamy white color (also a $0.50 “mistint”) and busted out the sandpaper. I distressed the tops and legs to give it a worn look.

IMAG2378b

I couldn’t be happier with the way it turned out. I’m no expert in “furniture flipping,” but I think it’s way more beautiful than the retro table it once was. It’s now waiting to be adopted by a loving family at the Sweet Ashley’s Cottage booth at the Alton Exchange. What do you think? Do you love bringing furniture back to life too?

IMAG2382b

IMAG2383b

Signature fishfingers

Leave a Reply

