Chrysanthemum Mirror

Chrysanthemum Mirror DIY

finished

In my opinion, Pinterest has changed the crafting world forever. I’m not much of an innovator, but I sure can recreate awesome ideas that I find online. For instance, I found this chrysanthemum mirror made out of PLASTIC SPOONS that I adore and finally decided to plunge into this project.

Here are the “ingredients” I used to complete this cute little number.

– 4 boxes of 45ish plastic spoons

– cardboard

– hot glue/hot glue gun

– utility knife

– dollar store mirror

– paint brush/cheap acrylic paint of your color choice

To begin, I found something large and circular (my laundry hamper) to trace for the base of the cardboard. I also cut a smaller hole that’s not shown in this photo out of the center of my cardboard circle so that I could insert my mirror.

cardboard circle

Next, I cut the handles of the spoons off so I would just have the nice rounded part. I had intended to use scissors for this, and it is possible, but ready yourself for hand cramps and a slow process. Luckily, I have Mr. Fix-It for a dad, so he gave me this monster of a tool to make this step easier. I believe this tool’s intended function is to cut metal, so plastic spoons were a cinch.

plyers        spoon

I was then ready to start hot gluing the spoons onto the cardboard by doing one circle at a time.

 partially done

When I was finished with the spoons, I hot glued the back edge of the mirror and plopped it into the center hole to serve as the middle of my “chrysanthemum flower.”

all attached

After all of these steps, I was FINALLY ready to begin painting. Now let me tell you, this is no quick craft. I think I spent approximately 6 hours on this bad boy (however, the Golden Globes were on and may have distracted me at times, so I didn’t mind working so long on the painting process). What took what seemed like days to finish was the painting because the spoons didn’t take the paint very well, so it took about 3 coats per round of spoons. I began with the original acrylic paint color in the center and for each row I simply added a little white to make the color fade out. And ta-da! I am really in love with the way it turned out and I think it will look adorable hanging on my wall. All for less than $10. Woohoo! Happy crafting!

finished

                                                                                                   signature

One thought on “Chrysanthemum Mirror

  1. Pingback: Ten Chrysanthemum DIY Decor using Plastic Spoons – Pursuit of Functional Home

Leave a Reply

