Past Projects (home decor on a budget)

I have completed a few crafty projects recently that I thought I would share to possibly inspire you to channel your inner Martha Stewart.

First off, I came across a shower curtain at Marshalls for $15 that I had absolutely no use for because I already had a one, but I just loved the print so I couldn’t pass it up. So to keep myself from feeling frivolous and like a pack-rat, I decided to break out the sewing machine. I simply cut the shower curtain in half and put a seam on the sides and presto. New window panels for $7 apiece.

curtain

Next, I wanted to recover some old pillows but couldn’t find the right fabric. One day while at Michaels Craft Store I stumbled across a set of Martha Stewart stencils (you might pick up on the fact that I REALLY love Martha Stewart) and craft paint that can be used on fabric, so I decided to take matters into my own hands and make the pillows look the way I wanted. I made two different pillows using the design and color schemes of my desire.


yellow pillow w other pillows       stencil

yellow pillow

white pillow w designs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I guess what I learned from these projects was to not let myself be held back by finding decor that fit just right, but to figure out a way to make it what I loved, and save a few bucks along the way!

bed

                                                                    signature

 

One thought on “Past Projects (home decor on a budget)

Leave a Reply

